Congressman Clyburn Named NAACP “Barrier Breaker”

Mar 7, 2008

(Washington, DC) -- Sixth District Congressman and House Majority Whip James E. Clyburn is a recipient of the “Barrier Breaker” Award given by the Washington, DC branch of the NAACP.  At its annual Freedom Fund dinner last night, the Washington, DC NAACP recognized Congressman Clyburn for attaining the highest ranking position of any African American in the Congress. 

“This award is a recognition of Congressman Clyburn’s efforts to blaze the trail for other African Americans to follow,” Washington DC NAACP President Lorraine C. Miller said. 

Congressman Clyburn shared the award with Ms. Miller, who is the first African American to serve as the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives.  Other recipients included notable individuals in business and government: the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House of Representatives; the Honorable Debbie Wasserman-Schultz, the first Jewish Congresswoman elected from Florida; Lorenzo Creighton, the first African American President of a Las Vegas casino; Matthew Fogg, who won a landmark discrimination case against the U.S. Marshall Service and Department of Justice; Lieutenant General Michael D. Rochelle, Deputy Chief of Staff G-1, United States Army, the first African American to head human resources and personnel for the entire Army; and Ernie Green, one of the Little Rock Nine.

“I am honored to be included in such good company,” Congressman Clyburn said.  “This award means a tremendous amount to me because it comes from my peers – friends, colleagues and even strangers in the African American community – who have been on the same journey with me to create opportunities for our children and future generations.”

#     #     #