Clyburn Announces $3.5 Million in FEMA Funds

Jan 7, 2010 Issues: Defense and National Security

(Columbia, SC) – House Majority Whip and Sixth District Congressman James E. Clyburn announced today the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency has awarded $3.5 million to South Carolina counties to help serve the homeless and hungry during these difficult economic times.  The awarded Emergency Food and Shelter Program (EFSP) funds are more than double the amount provided to South Carolina a year ago. 

“I am pleased the federal government is responding to the needs of our most vulnerable citizens,” Congressman Clyburn said.  “As we rebuild our economy, we must ensure that those in economic crisis don’t fall through the cracks, and this federal investment will go a long way.”

EFSP funds were first authorized by Congress in 1983 and are appropriated annually under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act.  With the FY 2010 allocation, more than $3.6 billion in federal aid will have been disbursed through the EFSP since its inception.

In addition, 8% of the year’s total EFSP appropriation will be allocated by the National Board to “set-aside committees” at the state level.  These State Set-Aside Committees will make funding determinations to aid the needy in jurisdictions with increased needs or that did not otherwise qualify for assistance.

In each county, a Local Board advertises the availability of the funds, establishes local priorities, selects local non-profit and government agencies to receive supplemental funding, and monitors program compliance. The Local Board’s composition mirrors the EFSP National Board.

Member agencies of the National Board include: American Red Cross; Catholic Charities USA; National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A.; The Jewish Federations of North America; The Salvation Army; and, United Way Worldwide.

Information on the EFSP grants for FY 2010 (“Phase 28” of the EFSP) is available on their website at

Here are the funding levels for South Carolina counties:

Emergency Food and Shelter Program
FY 2010 – “Phase 28” – South Carolina Allocations

Abbeville County                                 


Aiken County                                     


Allendale County                                 


Anderson County                                  


Bamberg County                                   


Barnwell County                                  


Berkeley County                                  


Calhoun County                                   


Charleston County                                


Cherokee County                                   


Chester County                                   


Chesterfield County                              


Clarendon County                                 


Colleton County                                   


Darlington County                                


Dillon County                                    


Dorchester County                                


Edgefield County                                 


Fairfield County                                 


Florence County                                  


Georgetown County                                


Greenville County                                


Greenwood County                                 


Hampton County                                   


Horry County                                     


Jasper County                                    


Kershaw County                                    


Lancaster County                                 


Laurens County                                   


Lee County                                       


Lexington County                                  


McCormick County                                 


Marion County                                    


Marlboro County                                  


Newberry County                                  


Oconee County                                    


Orangeburg County                                


Pickens County                                   


Richland County                                  


Saluda County                                    


Spartanburg County                               


Sumter County                                    


Union County                                     


Williamsburg County                               


York County                                      


State Set-Aside Committee, SC


South Carolina Total